Frédéric Acquaviva


Frédéric Acquaviva is a french composer living in Berlin. Working with authors such as Pierre Guyotat and Jean-Luc Parant, Frédéric composes experimental music and sound installations that focus on the possibilities of the voice. He is a specialist in the history of Lettrism and sound poetry, and has orchestrated and produced the symphonies of Isidore Isou, Gabriel Pomerand, and Maurice Lemaître. He curated the retrospective Gil J Wolman: I am immortal and Alive(MACBA/Serralves, 2010–11), the first Lettrist retrospective in Paris Bientôt les Lettristes (with Bernard Blistène, Passage de Retz, 2012), Specters of Artaud: Language and the arts in the 1950s(with Kaira Cabanas, Reina Sofia, 2012), and has written monographs on Jacques Spacagna and Bernard Heidsieck for the Archivo Conz in Verona. He has also created, for France Culture,Radio/Phonies on the works of various artists and poets, including Henri Chopin, Marcel Hanoun, Pierre Albert-Birot, and Otto Muehl.

Beinecke Library Visiting Fellowship
Lettrist Corpus
Visiting Fellow


Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
121 Wall Street | New Haven, CT 06511
Campus Map

Tel: (203) 432-2977    Fax: (203) 432-4047

USPS: Mailing Address and Information


Beinecke events & news email list subscription



Monday 10 am - 7 pm
Tuesday-Thursday 9 am - 7 pm
Friday 9 am - 5 pm
Saturday (Exhibitions only) 12 pm - 5 pm
Sunday (Exhibitions only) 12 pm - 4 pm

Holiday Schedule and Closed Collections Schedule