William Walton Online Archive

Various musical works by the British composer.
Excerpt from In honour of the city of London (cantata), [1937]
Excerpt from In honour of the city of London (cantata), [1937]

Sir William Walton (1902-1983), a British composer and conductor, was best known for his works Façade: Suites for Orchestra, (1926) a jazz-influenced orchestral work based on the poems of Edith Sitwell and the oratorio Belshazzar's Feast (1931).

Among the works digitzed by the Beinecke Library are Symphony, no. 2 (score and first movement, original version, 1959-60); Partita (orchestra, 1957); and The Forsaken Merman (cantata, 1916). Currently, only a portion of the Library's Walton holdings are available online.

To browse all of our digitized Walton manuscripts, including partial works, search for "William Walton" in our Digital Images database.

The Koch Collection

The Beinecke Library's selection of Sir William Walton music manuscripts are part of the Frederick R. Koch collection (GEN MSS 601), consisting of musical, literary, and historical materials collected by Frederick R. Koch, principally through purchases at public auctions, 1979-1986.

The collection is a broad and deep resource for study of the lives and works of a range of composers, authors, and other historical figures. Most materials are music manuscripts, literary manuscripts, drawings, and correspondence of composers, authors, and artists, with particular strengths in French, Italian, German, and British music, French literature, and British art.

Related Material

William Walton Edition, Oxford University Press

Modern Books and Manuscripts (1800 - present)
Call Numbers
The William Walton Online Archive is supported by the Oxford University Press, which administers copyright for the works of Sir William Walton. The Oxford University Press has granted a limited license for the display and use of the content of the work by Sir William Walton. Permission of the Press is required to publish Walton's works in any format. To learn more, contact Oxford University Press. 
Sir William Walton, [Title of Work]. Frederick R. Koch Collection, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University.


Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
121 Wall Street | New Haven, CT 06511
Campus Map

Tel: (203) 432-2977    Fax: (203) 432-4047

USPS: Mailing Address and Information


Beinecke events & news email list subscription via Yale Email Subscriptions



Monday 10 am - 7 pm
Tuesday-Thursday 9 am - 7 pm
Friday 9 am - 5 pm
Saturday (Exhibitions only) 12 pm - 5 pm
Sunday (Exhibitions only) 12 pm - 4 pm

Holiday Schedule and Closed Collections Schedule